Father’s Day

Father’s Day

Yesterday, as we all know, was father’s day and my children were particularly generous with their well thought out gifts. Both boys gave me items which I am not allowed a lot of. But the quantity and quality was most appropriate. Daughter Sarah gave me a very thoughtful box full of memories on cards and photos, some of which I thought I would share with you.

EPSON MFP image

The first memory was teaching Sarah how to ride a bike using a broom handle inserted in the rear forks. I am often accused of using non conventional methods but defend myself by arguing that they do sometimes work. despite being terminally ill one of my few pleasures is still having the ability  to shock…even horrify… my family, as well as my accountant and others! From age 1 she loved going round the bye ways of Stirlingshire on the back of my bike.

EPSON MFP image
Here is one of the few professional family photos we have. It brings back memories.

EPSON MFP image

This was fun! Had a pretty mediocre business hiring out classic cars which from time to time I used as my “smoker” (motor trade slang for the car used by a garage owner) The Rolls was the most disastrous from a business point of view but in some ways fun. Want to mortify your children? …This is how to do it! Pick them up in a Rolls!

EPSON MFP image

Here we are in the mid 90s on the way to Kyle to visit my parents. The old Jaguar now sits at the back of Murchison’s garage in Kyle, having seen better days.
Duncan particularly liked it and many years later persuaded me to buy another. Fun as these cars are they cost an arm and a leg to maintain.

 

EPSON MFP image

Never will forget them playing in the old car having been well warned not to touch the gear lever or handbrake. YOU CAN GUESS WHAT HAPPENED. Hearing screams I went to the window and with a mixture of relief and amusement burst out laughing seeing them 70 yards down the road unharmed. Our house was on the T junction with enough of a slope for a car to run down the road. The amusement was not shared by Margaret.

EPSON MFP image

Graduation day for a first class honours in English, followed by a Masters, followed by PHD then teacher training, PHD delayed in part because of my illness. Murdo Jnr did honours in psychology, Duncan first class honours in history and now on third year at ETS.(Edinburgh theological seminary) Very different to their uneducated dad. Needless to say I am proud of them.

EPSON MFP image

 

On holiday 3 years ago thinking that we made not too bad a job of them, although they are very much their own people.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Father’s Day

  1. Lovely memories. A lovely covenant family. Memories of you turning up at Grefriars to preach after an early morning adventure when your kids painted the kitchen units! May God fill your days with his love and peace and brilliant memories xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My friend in Dunblane has just restored his old Jag – a labour of love ❤️However, it has passed it’s MOT and purring along nicely – a timeless beauty!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

